I DID A VERY BAD THING

A friend of mine called me up to ask a huge favor of me.  He had shoulder surgery and hasn’t been able to ride his Harley motorcycle in a while and won’t be able to for a few more months.  He asked me to ride his bike around to run the old gas out of it and keep things running.  Since I’m just such a nice guy I agreed.  I know it is a huge sacrifice on my part, but I’m just that kind of person.

What I neglected to do was tell my wife the truth.  Instead, I told her I was buying a new motorcycle this weekend.  I figured since I was showing up this weekend with a new motorcycle, why not have a little fun with it?  All week I have been telling her about the new bike I was getting.  At first she thought I was pulling her leg, but then she began to realize that I was in fact coming home with a motorcycle.  As she started asking some specific questions that I couldn’t answer I made things up on the spot.  It worked.

SAMSUNG

This is a 2006 Harley Davidson 1200 Sportster with low miles still looking brand new.

I’ve never been a Harley guy.  They just don’t suit my style of riding.  I like the dual sport motorcycle world with the ability to go off road and get dirty.  My wife is keenly aware of this little fact.  Apparently this week she and her best friend have been having girl talk about me having a mid-life crisis.  She got upset, but nowhere near as much as I thought she would.

I came home with the bike as promised and then convinced her to go for a long ride with me on my “new” bike.  I took her out to dinner and then let her know I had pranked her.  All in all things went quite well.  I had told her I was coming home with an expensive new Harley.  I did not discuss this purchase with her ahead of time whatsoever.  I told her I was just going to buy it, then I came home with it, which is totally out of character for me.  She handled it fairly well chalking it up to a mid-life crisis.  This has some interesting implications.  There is a Triumph Tiger Explorer I have had my eye on down at the dealership…

This entry was posted in General Motorcycle Related. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

