Set back

I want to apologize for the lack of adventures recently and a lack of writing.  My broken ankle bone has healed, but my torn ligaments have not.  It is kind of hard to write about sitting in a chair all day for two months and  I am sure no one wants to read about it either.

I saw my doctor today and I am getting more frustrated every time he says it is worse than he thought it was from the previous visit.  I have yet to have an appointment that I didn’t hear those words.  Two visits ago he said I didn’t have to wear the ortho boot if I was comfortable walking without it.  Needless to say, that thing was not comfortable so I went without.  I did keep my ankle wrapped with an ACE wrap and wore good quality hiking boots.  If I wasn’t on my feet, which was most of the time, I had my foot up with an ice pack on it. I have also been taking anti-inflammatory NSAIDs and pain meds.   Today, I was told I have been “non-compliant” for not wearing the ortho boot.  I am really beginning to wonder if they missed something.  This should have been healed up by now.  Instead I have pain, point tenderness, swelling, and fluid in the joints.  My ankle is still not stable.  The day after Thanksgiving makes eight weeks exactly.  As of now, I am restricted from work until December 17th.  In the meantime I have been sent for physical therapy.

Last week I started doing things like hiking and riding my motorcycle in anticipation of going back to work next week.  If I can’t successfully do those things then there is no way I am going to be dragging fire hoses or pulling people from wrecked cars out of a ditch.  The mmotorcycle riding wasn’t too big of a deal.  It has been fairly sedate riding while sitting.  The hiking though gave me a run for my money.  I came home in pain both times.

I think it is time for a second opinion.  My biggest fear is that I have a completely torn ligament that was not properly diagnosed and will need surgery.  That will set me back to square one.  I would appreciate prayers for a swift healing.  I am itching to get back to life again.

THE GOOD NEWS

I do have some exciting news to share.  At least to me it is.  I bought a new (used) camera!  I borrowed my dad’s Nikon D40x to experiment with using a DSLR camera while riding and to generally get the feel for a DSLR type of camera.  I used it on the Tour D’ Alachua trip and loved it.  My requirements were that I needed a camera that had a good quality sensor with features that would produce a high quality photograph. I also wanted a camera that would offer some control over the point and shoot which is pretty much all automated.  I was willing to spend a little bit of money, but it couldn’t be so much that if I dump my motorcycle in the swamp that I would be sleeping on the couch for the rest of my life because I spent too much money on a camera I destroyed.  I also wanted video capabilities to make video recordings of some of the sites I find. The D40 does not have video capabilities which ruled it out. The answer was a used Nikon D3200 from craigslist.  The D3200 has good reviews and comes highly recommended by a respected photographer as a good all around entry level DLSR that will meet my needs.  It is also referred to as a prosumer’s camera.

Up until now, I have been using a higher quality point and shoot.  A P&S is easy to carry in a pocket or in my tank bag and offers the ability to catch photos quickly.  The DSLR camera I just bought will require me to get off the motorcycle, open my top case, remove the camera from the carry bag, and then I can take my photo(s).  I will continue using the P&S camera for the convenience of it, but now I will have the opportunity to take higher quality photos when I feel it would be better to do so.   The guy I bought the D3200 from purchased it new six months ago and never used it much.  He recently lost his job and is selling some of his personal things to pay bills.  I really felt bad for him.  It is becoming a very common story as of late.  I may be buying a few more things from him soon that we discussed.

Dinosaur! Run!

I have been researching a ride that I want to take soon.  I am going to call it “Dinosaur! Run!”.  Florida has a unique history of odd roadside attractions.   One of the common attractions were dinosaurs and huge statues.  Many of them still exist today.  Some are well cared for while others are hidden under the overgrowth of jungle.  I plan on taking a ride to capture as much history of each individual one as I can.  So far I have a list of about twenty very unusual concrete and fiberglass oddities.  Look for that story by the end of December.   The new camera is going to get a work out on that run.

If you happen to know of a forgotten roadside oddity that I may not, please tell me about it in the comments section or email me or facebook me.  The more that I can include the better.  I am specifically looking around Hernando and Citrus counties, but would be willing to check out most things in the West Central Florida region if interesting enough.

Until next time, keep the rubber side down.  It works better that way!

DirtMedic

This entry was posted in Everything Else and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Set back

  1. Joyce says:

    I am sorry to hear you are still having trouble with your ankle — I had thought by now you would be almost well! definitely get a 2nd opinion. The Oddities Report sounds so interesting; looking forward to it!

  2. Cheryl Davis says:

    Hi Chris,
    I am glad your ankle is getting better. The “Nikon,” that’s a nice camera. Good quality photos, for sure. Enjoy that “Dinosaur” run. 🙂

Leave a Reply

